Dock Blanchard & Trip Green, Personal Injury Trial Law
Call us now for a consultation 352-547-5123
Nothing Matters More Than Your Health. Our Results Show We Can Help

A Review of Florida's Auto Accidents Law

Whenever you are involved in a car accident, a number of state laws and statutes come into play. These may adversely affect the resultant lawsuit and insurance claims. Florida has distinguished itself as a no-fault state. The steps that you take following an accident determine the amount of compensation that you will be entitled to.

You must file a report with the Florida Highway Patrol, the police department, or a Sherriff as soon as you get injured in an accident. You are also obligated to make a report if the accident caused property damages amounting to over $500. Generally, auto accidents occur as a result of negligence. The negligent driver is bound by statutory laws to compensate the other party. The amount of liability that he/she owes the claimant is dependent on the extent of damages, and the conditions surrounding the auto accident.

Florida has unique negligence laws, which mainly rely on a comparative negligence system. This comes into play when determining the amount of liability that is payable to the car accident victim. Therefore, everyone who is deemed to be at fault for the injuries that you sustained during an accident is liable. Again, the amount of liability will depend on the role that he or she played.

Getting your life back on track after an auto accident is a tricky affair since you are likely to be burdened by expensive hospital bills. Insurance companies also take long before they process claims. When you register a car in Florida, you must have automobile coverage, with more than $10,000 personal injury cover, and at least 10,000 property damage liability. When making accident claims, there are certain things that you need to keep in mind.

In most cases, insurance companies ask for a police report, which gives details about circumstances that led to the accident. Personally, you must keep a record of the time that the accident occurred, the police department that investigated the accident, and the at-fault party's details including his or her insurance information. You should also ensure that your car is taken to a reputable garage so that the extent of damages is ascertained.

At times, it is quite difficult to determine the motorist responsible for an accident. You may need assistance from an experience attorney to assist you in your case.


No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Tell us about your legal matter Your case is confidential

Fill out the form and we’ll be in touch with you shortly, or call us directly at 352-547-5123.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Our Location

Dock Blanchard & Trip Green, personal injury trial law 4 SE Broadway Street Ocala, FL 34471 Phone: 352-547-5123 Fax: 352-732-0017 Map & Directions

  • The Florida Bar Board Certified CIVIL TRIAL
  • Super Lawyers
  • American Board of Trial Advocates
  • The Florida Bar Board Certified APPELLATE PRACTICE